Edwards on Dying to Self


Jonathan Edwards

May this be something I can say myself:

“I have been before God, and have given myself, all that I am and have, to God; so that I am not, in any respect, my own.  I can challenge no right in this understanding, this will, these affections, which are in me.  Neither have I any right to this body, or any of its members–no right to this tongue, these hands, these feet; no right to these senses, these eyes, these ears, this smell, or this taste.  I have given myself clear away, and have not retained any thing as my own.” – Jonathan Edwards (1703-1758)

This entry was posted in Jonathan Edwards, Obedience, Surrender and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

