Why do you insist on careless words?


I just want to take a moment to address an issue that has become very relevant to me in the last six months.  I am to be married in 9 days.  I am very excited and grateful to God that He has blessed in such a way as to allow Shawna and I to be drawn together in a way that really was not on our radar a  couple of years ago.  And while I am not going to go on and on about all the ways God has blessed me and Shawna in this awesome time of our lives and me more than anyone else, God has been gracious, and exceeding my greatest expectations.  And He is to be praised in all of this.

While I feel like many are rejoicing in this union of Shawna and I, I feel like some people just do not think about the things they say before they say them.  Why is it that we feel that we need to make jokes or discourage a Godly picture of Christ and His church in the blessed union of a marriage?  I have had many joke, ask, or “give wisdom” (in their terminology) by asking or telling us that “There is still time…”

But if I might ask, what is there still time for?  Why do you insist on joking in a negative way about marriage?  Why do you insist on trying to encourage us to take advantage of the time that is left to “get out while you still can?”  Let me encourage you to think about your words.  To remember the words of Gen 2:18, “It is not good for man to be alone.”   And Proverbs 18:22 “He that finds a wife finds a good thing, and obtains favor from the Lord.”   And Ephesians 5: 22-33 that reminds us of the fact that the marriage union is a picture of Christ and the church.  This is something to be rejoiced in.  It is one of the hardest, blessed experiences we can have and it is one of the greatest tools of sanctification in a believer’s life that the Spirit of God uses in us, to make us holy and without blemish before Him.

Please, the next time you are ready to offer “wisdom,” ask yourself if your “wisdom” (little w) matches that of the Wisdom (capital W) of the Word of God.   May your speech be seasoned with grace, not discord.  Exalt the Lord, honor what He honors, and be used of God in a way that glorifies Him. Do not let your speech be careless and thoughtless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.