Delivered and Transferred


 

“May you be strengthened with all power, according to his glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.  He has delivered us from the domain of darkness and transferred us to the kingdom of his beloved Son, in whom we have redemption, the forgiveness of sins.” – Colossians 1:11-14 (ESV)


Father, I need Your strength.  Endurance and patience are not two things that can usually describe me.  But I want to be able to endure the lies and false teachings of this world because I find my strength to do that in Your Holy Word.  Help me to learn to be patient so that I may demonstrate characteristics of my Lord Jesus Christ.  Thank you for being patient with me.  Thank you for giving me the endurance that I need.  Ultimately, THANK YOU for SAVING ME!  That I would be able to share in the inheritance of the saints is an unfathomable truth!

Not only have you delivered me from the domain of darkness (Romans 6:12-14) and sin has no dominion over me, but you have also transferred me to the kingdom of Your beloved Son and now I am an heir with Christ!  I am a child of the King!  You redeemed me with the redemption price I could never pay.  You forgave my sins!  Oh that I would meditate on that today.  That I would present myself to You as an instrument of righteousness and reject giving myself to sin as an instrument of unrighteousness (Romans 6:13).  God I need You!  I need Your strength.

This entry was posted in Christ, Family of God, Kingship, Prayer, Salvation, Sanctification, Savior, Sin, Sovereignty, Thanksgiving, Word. Bookmark the permalink.