See You at the Pole 2011


I am excited to be involved with the See You at the Pole (SYATP 2011) gathering tomorrow morning at a local high school in this area. I have been thinking about this opportunity and some things that would be helpful to mention tomorrow morning as we gather to pray for our nation, the church, our schools, and our students and I am left thinking about a song that is actually old but has been “re-tuned” in recent years and renamed. Originally named by its first line “I am not skilled to understand” written by Dora Greenwell (1821-1882) it has recently been know by the name given to it by Aaron Shust who “retuned” it and named it “My Savior, My God.”
The reason I come to this song while thinking about SYATP 2011 is because of the nature of our limited knowledge and understanding of the world around us and our inability to really understand the workings of our God. And all while, we have a real need that we can understand and that is sin and our need for a Savior. This is what we need to pray about tomorrow. That God be lifted up and that all men be drawn to Him in a repentant and trusting manner.
Even if you don’t know a student in high school, middle, or even elementary, join with me in praying tomorrow for those who are believers to have opportunities to reach out to their lost friends and begin to share deeply about the God who saves! For them to really know the God of the universe!

“I Am Not Skilled to Understand” – Dora Greenwell (1821-1882)

I am not skilled to understand,
what God has willed, what God has planned;
I only know at His right hand,
is One who is my Savior.

I take Him at His word indeed,
“Christ died for sinners!” this I read.
For in my heart, I find a need,
of Him to be my Savior.

That He should leave His place on high,
and come for sinful man to die;
You count it strange? So once did I,
before I knew my Savior!

And O, that He fulfilled may see,
The travail of His soul in me,
And with His work contented be,
as I with my dear Savior.

Yes, living, dying, let me bring,
my strength, my solace from this spring;
That He who lives to be my King,
once died to be my Savior!

This entry was posted in Christ, Gospel, Prayer, Savior. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

