Behold the Throne of Grace


I am hoping to do something with this hymn in the very near future. The lyrics are just excellent!

Behold the Throne of Grace – John Newton 1779

Behold the throne of grace
The promise calls me near.
There Jesus shows a smiling face
And waits to answer prayer.

That rich atoning blood
Which sprinkled round I see
Provides for those who come to God
An all-prevailing plea.

My soul, ask what you will
You cannot be too bold
Since His own blood for you He spilt
What else can He withhold?

Beyond your utmost wants
His love and pow’r can bless.
To praying souls He always grants
More than they can express.

Your image, Lord, bestow
Your presence and Your love
I ask to serve You here below
And reign with You above.

Teach me to live by faith
Conform my will to Yours
Let me victorious be in death
and exalt You above!

This entry was posted in Heaven, Hymns, John Newton. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Behold the Throne of Grace

  1. Sharon Johnson says:

    This is a wonderful hymn. Look forward to hearing what you do with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

