I am Resting


A dear sister of mine in my local church body asked me Sunday if I knew the hymn “Jesus, I am Resting, Resting” ?  And I told her I did know that song.  But I doubt she knew the depth of encouragement she would be to me in that simple question.  Very recently I experienced a great loss in the death of my grandfather.  And to be honest I have struggled to know how to truly respond to this.  And I have come to the same place the author, Jean S Pigott, of “Jesus, I am Resting, Resting” came to.  Sometimes no response is possible except to rest in Jesus Christ.

Jesus, I Am Resting, Resting – Jean S Pigott (Public Domain)

Chorus:
Jesus I am resting resting
In the joy of what You are
I am finding out the greatness
Of Your loving heart

Verse 1:
Jesus I am resting resting
In the joy of what You are
I am finding out the greatness
Of Your loving heart
You have bid me gaze upon You
And Your beauty fills my soul
For by Your transforming pow’r
You have made me whole

Verse 2:
Oh how great Your loving kindness
Vaster broader than the sea
Oh how marvelous Your goodness
Lavished all on me
Yes I rest in You Beloved
Know that wealth of grace is Yours
Know Your certainty of promise
And have made it mine

Verse 3:
Simply trusting You Lord Jesus
I behold You as You are
And Your love so pure so changeless
Satisfied my heart
Satisfies my deepest longings
Meets supplies its every need
Compasses me around with blessings
Yours is love indeed

Verse 4:
Ever lift Your face upon me
As I work and wait for You
Resting ‘neath Your smile Lord Jesus
Earth’s dark shadows flee
Brightness of my Father’s glory
Sunshine of my Father’s face
Keep me ever trusting resting
Fill me with Your grace

This entry was posted in Christ, Hymns, Savior, Trials. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

