IITRH Chap 1


I would like to spend some time in a couple of blogs to post some thoughts I am gaining or just wanting to share from a book I am reading right now. The book is by Paul David Tripp (PDT)and it is called Instruments in the Redeemer’s Hands.
I am probably going to make it through this book slowly.  In an effort to retain as much as I possibly can.  Not sure how often I will blog and this may even be the only post (depends upon many things).  But one thing I wanted to share was a subheading from chapter one titled “What Sin Does To Us.”
I think quite often we don’t realize the effects of sin in our own lives. We see struggles as being outside occurrences that beat down upon us from without but there are many times that our struggles that seem outward actually have their genesis inside. PDT speaks of three things that sin does to us.

1) Sin produces rebellion.

When I was around the middle school age I remember going through a rebellious stage that lasted up through the middle of high school.  My rebellion was against all the authority I could find.  I did whatever I could to rebel at my teachers, my parents, my friends, and there were even times that I wanted to even rebel against myself.  But the rebellion that PDT speaks of is not a “stage” in our lives.  Sin is a character flaw that infects and effects every part of us.  We not only rebel against our parents and teachers for a time but everything about us seeks to rebel against the God of the Universe all the time.  We seek to dethrone Him and rise to a level ourselves that makes us god.
“Rebellion is the inborn tendency to give in to the lies of autonomy, self-sufficiency, and self-focus.  It results in an habitual violation of God-given boundaries.”
“We were not created to be autonomous.  We were designed to be in daily submission to God and to live for His glory.  Living outside this design will never work.”

2) Sin produces foolishness in us.

Listen to this quote: “Foolishness believes that there is no perspective, insight, theory, or “truth” more reliable than our own.  It buys into the lie that we know better.  It causes us to distort reality and live in worlds of our own making.”
“Foolishness controls the man who is open to no one’s counsel and the person who sees little need to study God’s Word.”
“We were designed to be revelation receivers, dependent on the truths God would teach us, and applying those truths to our lives.”
Here’s the kicker: (Psalm 14:1)
“Our foolishness is a rejection of God, an inborn desire to replace God’s wisdom with our own.  Beneath it all, we want to be our own gods, revealing to ourselves all the “truth” we need.”

3) Finally, sin renders us incapable of doing what God has ordained us to do.

This is best understood by the words of the apostle Paul in Romans 7:19-23.
“For I do not do the good I want, but the evil I do not want is what I keep on doing.  Now if I do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells within me.
So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand.  For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members.”

Even when we want to do good, sin ravages us and makes us unable to do anything but sin.

Sin makes us rebellious, makes us foolish, and ultimately makes us incapable of doing anything good.  “The good news of the kingdom is not freedom from hardship, suffering, and loss.  It is the news of a Redeemer who has come to rescue me from myself.  His rescue produces change that fundamentally alters my response to these inescapable realities.  The Redeemer turns rebels into disciples, fools into humble listeners.”

Praise the Lord, who is our Redeemer!

This entry was posted in Sin. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

