Adversity


I wrote this song maybe six months to a year ago.  I have my moments when I struggle with the present, and even the future.  I am sure that I am not alone.  I always want to be growing into a deeper relationship with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  But my flesh wants control!  And Jesus, if He is going to be my Lord, needs control of my life.  So while life is in its season of “spring time” I find it easy to rely on God.  Control is easy to hand over when the “breeze is blowing” and when the “sun is shining.” 

But what happens when my faith is tested?  What happens when winter arrives? 
What if this road doesn’t bring me what I want (more springtime) but what I need (winter)? 

It’s in the season of winter when I realize that it is not my hand that is holding tight, but God is holding me.  It’s when the “storm ensues” that I find my strength is weak and God’s strength is “secure.”  This song was written for my reminder that it’s not me that I need to rely on in the storm.  My faith is refined when I realize in the midst of the storm that God is holding me. 

This is my encouragement:
I only see a piece of the picture, so I need to trust in the One who holds on to me, and my future.  Praise God, from whom ALL blessings flow.

Adversity – N. Adam Johnson

V1:
Some days I wonder where this road will lead,
will it bring me what I want, or what I need?
And will I still be standing when the storm recedes?

V2:
I’ve found life’s easy when the sun shines,
When the breezes blow and it is spring time,
But will I still be smiling when winter arrives?

Pre-Chorus:
It’s so hard when I only see a, a piece of the picture.
But I, I trust in You for, You hold on to me and, and my future.

Chorus:
So I know I’ll rest in You, when the storm ensues
Because You hold on to me, and You bring me through.

V3:
I now know that I cannot trust my strength to endure,
For when adversity strikes, I fall from You
It’s not I that holds but Your strength that’s secure.

Chorus:
So I know I’ll rest in You, when the storm ensues
Because You hold on to me, and You bring me through.
So I know I’ll rest in You, when the storm ensues
Because You hold on to me, and You bring me through.

Pre-Chorus:
It’s so hard when I only see a, a piece of the picture.
But I, I trust in You for, You hold on to me and, and my future.

V4:
I now know that I cannot trust my strength to endure,
For when adversity strikes, I fall from You
It’s not I that holds but Your strength that’s secure.

This entry was posted in Christ, Kingship, Salvation, Sanctification, Savior, Trials. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adversity

  1. Carol Price says:

    That is wonderful Adam! It is real and reassuring to listen to these lyrics. I hope you sing it soon.

  2. Sharon Johnson says:

    Adam, again you’ve written a song that speaks to many of us. I know for me, it’s much easier to trust and have faith in the “springtime” and harder when “winter” comes. And it is so true that I also have to realize that God is holding onto me, not that I am holding onto him. I know I grow more during the winter, but I don’t enjoy it while I’m going through it. (I’m still working on that.) Thanks for the song!

Leave a Reply

