You Are God (children’s song)


A couple of months ago my brother so indiscreetly asked me to think about writing some children’s songs on the Ten Commandments.  And by indiscreetly, I mean bluntly! 🙂  But I am very glad he did.  The first song, out of at least a few songs I hope to write, I wrote on the plane ride back from California in March.  Children’s songs are fun to write.  I don’t have to be clever…just truthful and simple!  And that’s fun! 

The first song is titled You Are God (I will love You). 

From various scriptures out of the Bible.  Main ones are:  Exodus 20:1-6; Deuteronomy 6:4-9

You are God (I Will Love You) – by N. Adam Johnson (Mar 2010)

 
Ba dap bap ba da, (echo) Ba dap bap ba da (echo)
Ba dap bap ba da, (echo) Ba dap bap ba da (echo)
 
 
 
You are God, You are King,
the Creator of everything
and we will have no gods but You (repeat)
 
 
 
You are God who created: life and breath and humanity
to You alone we lift up our songs of praise
You are God who created: life and breath and humanity
teach us to love You above all else
For we know no other gods
Yes, we know no other gods
 
 
 
I will love You: with all my heart
I will love You: with all my mind
I will love You: with all my strength
and I will love my neighbor as myself
 
 
 
Ba dap bap ba da, (echo) Ba dap bap ba da (echo)
Ba dap bap ba da, (echo) Ba dap bap ba da (echo)
This entry was posted in Children's Songs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

