Indescribable


photo by N Adam Johnson

 

The weather this weekend and the subject of creation the past few weeks in church and in my 9th and 10th grade boys Sunday School class has really made me focus in on beauty of the Creator’s work.  How truly awesome is the creation around us.  I wanted to share some Psalms and some songs that I hope will inspire awe in your life at creation and ultimately our Creator!

Psalm 95:3-6 “For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.  In His hand are the depths of the earth; the heights of the mountains are His also.  The sea is His for He made it, and His hands formed the dry land.  Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker!”Psalm 147:4, 8-9 “He determines the number of the stars; He gives to all of them their names…He covers the heavens with clouds; He prepares rain for the earth; He makes grass grow on the hills.  He gives to the beasts their food, and to the young ravens that cry.”

Psalm 19:1-6 “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the sky above proclaims His handiwork.  Day to day pours out speech, and night to night reveals knowledge.  There is no speech, nor are there words, whose voice is not heard.  Their voice goes out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world.  In them He has set a tent for the sun, which comes out like a bridegroom leaving his chamber, and, like a strong man, runs its course with joy.  Its rising is from the end of the heavens, and its circuit to the end of them, and there is nothing hidden from its heat.” 

Psalm 24:1-2 “The earth is the LORD’s and the fullness thereof, the world and those who dwell therein, for He has founded it upon the seas and established it upon the rivers.”

Psalm 8:3-4 “When I look at Your heavens, the work of Your fingers, the moon and the stars, which You have set in place, what is man that You are mindful of him, and the son of man that You take care of him?From Chris Tomlin’s album Arriving, the song Indescribable speaks of the awesome Creator’s handiwork!

From the highest of heights to the depths of the sea
Creation’s revealing Your majesty
From the colors of fall to the fragrance of spring
Every creature unique in the song that it sings
All exclaiming 

Indescribable, uncontainable,
You placed the stars in the sky and You know them by name.
You are amazing God
All powerful, untameable,
Awestruck we fall to our knees as we humbly proclaim
You are amazing God 

Who has told every lightning bolt where it should go
Or seen heavenly storehouses laden with snow
Who imagined the sun and gives source to its light
Yet conceals it to bring us the coolness of night
None can fathom 

Indescribable, uncontainable,
You placed the stars in the sky and You know them by name.
You are amazing God
Incomparable, unchangeable
You see the depths of my heart and You love me the same
You are amazing God
You are amazing God 

photo by N Adam Johnson

 

And one more from Charlie Hall’s cd, The Bright Sadness, a song called Scenes.

Chill and cold and flakes of snow
Ice and sleet, and frost and cold
Each storm cloud and thunderbolt
Lifts my mind to You 

Every work and every power
Every second of every hour
Fall of dew in sweet rain showers
Lifts my mind to You 

The summer wind, fire and heat
Autumn leaves and blooms of spring
Ocean waves and mountain streams
Lifts my mind to you 

I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you
I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you 

As I lay me down to sleep
As I walk on city streets
As I laugh with friends and feast
It lifts my mind to you 

As my children play and run
In the news with wars and guns
In the church where songs are sung
It lifts my mind to you 

Deep inside the beggar’s eyes
As for sweet love I fight
On the radio at night
It lifts my mind to you 

I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you 

I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you 

Painting pictures of your love
You lift my mind up
Reminding me of you
My heart comes alive 

Painting pictures of your love
You lift my mind up
Reminding me of you
My heart comes alive 

I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you 

I see you in every scene
I bet you are thinking about me
I have such a short memory
So you keep reminding me of you 

photo by N Adam Johnson

 

What a wonderful Creator is God, the Almighty.  Also something that may be of interest to you on the subject of creation is this website:  answersingenesis.org 

This entry was posted in Charlie Hall, Chris Tomlin, Creation, Psalms. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

