When I Don’t Desire to Sing


Hymns have been a great blessing in my life, as of late, and I find so much truth and benefit from them.  There is a hymn called “Come, Thou Almighty King”.  In the first verse, I find a beneficial lyric which I should pray when I don’t desire to sing and even when I do.  I am a fallible man, with a selfish flesh that desires to run from God at every possible moment.  Singing about God is not always an easy task when I am dealing with struggles.  But dealing with struggles, tests, and trials are the very thing that allow my faith to refined in the crucible (James 1:2-4; Proverbs 17:3). 

But even when I desire to sing, I don’t always understand how to praise.  The first verse in the hymn “Come Thou Almighty King” is a prayer that I am lifting up.  “Teach me Lord, how to praise You, how to exalt You, how to worship You in spirit and in truth.” 

One day our praise will be perfect and completely God-exalting and true, but until then…

 

Come, Thou Almighty King

Come Thou Almighty King,
Help us Thy name to sing,
Help us to praise:
Father, all glorious,
O’er all victorious,
Come and reign over us,
Ancient of Days.

Come, Thou Incarnate Word,
Gird on Thy mighty sword,
Our prayer attend!
Come, and Thy people bless,
And give Thy word success:
Spirit of holiness,
On us descend.

Come, Holy Comforter,
Thy sacred witness bear
In this glad hour!
Thou, who almighty art,
Now rule in ev’ry heart
And ne’er from us depart,
Spirit of pow’r.

To Thee, great One in Three,
The highest praises be,
Hence evermore;
Thy sov’reign majesty
May we in glory see,
And to eternity
Love and adore.
What are some hymns that help you worship God better?

This entry was posted in Hymns, Prayer, Worship Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I Don’t Desire to Sing

  1. sjbrown58 says:

    Amazing Grace – John Newton
    We All are One in Mission – Rusty Edwards
    Now Thank We All Our God – Martin Rinkart
    How Great Thou Art – Stuart Hine
    Take My Life and Let it Be – Frances Havergal
    It is Well – Horatio Spafford
    Onward Christian Soldiers – Sabine Baring-Gould
    O Come, O Come Emmanuel – Monks
    What a Friend We Have in Jesus – Josef Scribner

    Steve
    http://sjbrown58.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

