Poetic Meditations on 1 John 1:5-10


If fellowship with Thee I claim
yet in darkness do I walk,
My speech is but a lie the same
for my walk matches not my talk.

If I walk in the light as He
true fellowship is found.
An’ the blood of Jesus cleanses me
from sin that had me bound.

If I say, “No sin have I,”
deception is my reward.
Great folly is my guilty crime
no truth can I afford.

If confession I do make of sin
He is faithful, just, and true
To forgive me of unrighteousness
to cleanse and pardon too.

If I say, “I have not sinned.”
of Him, a liar, I make
My heart, His word, no root can find
His wrath will seal my fate.

This entry was posted in 1 John, N Adam Johnson, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

