Bless the Lord, O My Soul!


John MacArthur states, “When we bless God it is with words of praise; when He blesses us it is with deeds of kindness.”

He also states that we are to “beware of the sin of thanklessness.  Recognize God’s blessings in your life, and let them fill your heart and lips with humble, sincere praise.”

I feel that I all too often am thankless and prideful of the gifts and blessings that God has bestowed upon me as if I had been the one to earn the blessings I have been given.  My hope is that this year, in 2010, I will be more aware of the blessing of the Lord God upon my life.  To begin in this mindset, I have a list of things God has blessed me with that I all too often take for granted.

First on the list, would be my health.  I have been blessed by God with excellent health.  I have often complained about headaches, body aches, soreness, and simple colds; yet I forget that I have my sight, my ability to hear, I have life in me, breath in my lungs.  I have legs to walk, arms and hands to grip and work with, and all this could be taken from me in an instant and I would have been blessed beyond belief for the time that I had had them.  Forgive me, Lord, for my lack of thankfulness for the health that you have given me.

Next on my list, I am thankful for my family and my friends.  Those who have encouraged me, loved me, disciplined me, helped me, and stood alongside me throughout my years of life.  I have not deserved the love and affection that has been shown to me, nor have I returned that love and affection as I should have.  May I continually find ways of showing my thankfulness and gratitude to those who have loved me when I was unloveable, difficult, or lacking in affection. 

Third, I am very thankful for my church, my job, and those who are in leadership over me.  My church is a Word-centered, God-exalting, Christ-following church.  I am blessed to be able to serve alongside such wonderful saints.  I am continually amazed at the opportunity God has afforded me to serve in ministry at such a wonderful church.  And an even greater blessing is the fact that this is the first church that I have been able to work at!  May God get all the glory!

Fourth, I am thankful for the gift of music, both in instrumental terms and vocal terms.  The opportunities and ministries which God has given me through the gift of music would amaze just about anyone.  Especially when you look at me, know my past, know my insufficiences, and then know the work that God is doing!  It is truly a blessing to be used of God.  I only seek to find my joy in the God who gifts music than in the gift itself.  May 2010 be a continuing of using the gift of music for the glory and Kingdom of God.  May I never take it for granted or use it selfishly but may I always seek to glorify God in it.

The fifth thing, and the most important, is the salvation of my soul.  That my God has called me, an emeny of God, out of darkness and into marvelous light.  “In this is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation for our sins.” – 1 John 4:10 NASB

May 2010 continue to be the year of thankfulness and of blessing the Lord for the things He has done for me, and all the more as life continues.  “Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits” – Psalm 103:2

This entry was posted in Prayer, Thanksgiving. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

