One Look


My Lord, I have no clothes to come to Thee;
My shoes are pierced and broken with the road;
I am torn and weathered, wounded with the goad,
and soiled with tugging at my weary load:
The more I need Thee. A very prodigal
I stagger into Thy presence, Lord of me:
One look, my Christ, and at Thy feet I fall!

-George MacDonald (Diary of an Old Soul) (1880)

Oh for a greater realization that we come with nothing more than filthy rags, yet we are adopted into the family and given the riches of salvation and justification, sanctification, and glorification.  We, who once were enemies, now made children!  Praise God for this awesome mystery!!!

This entry was posted in Christ, George MacDonald, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

