Teach Me to Love You


Deuteronomy 6:5-9, 13
Psalms 27:4; 63; 143:6
Matthew 5:6

Teach Me to Love You  –

Why is it that my relationship with You
Leaves something to be desired?
When all I want to do is follow
But I don’t know where to start.
Your Word tells me to love You God,
But I fail before I start.
It’s hard to want You, It’s hard to need You,
When all I care about is me.
When I don’t desire to be with You,
Even though I know, You’re everything I’ll ever need.
How am I to be like You
When I just want to be like me?

Teach me to love You, with all of my heart;
Teach me to love You, with all of my soul;
Teach me to love You, with all of my strength;
That I may truly seek You God.

There’s no way that my human heart
Could ever deal with all You bring.
Rip out these carnal insufficiencies
And rebuild me in Your strength
Teach me, O God, teach me
‘cause I cannot on my own
Learn to love You, O I want to love You
But I cannot on my own.
Teach me to love You, with all of my heart;
Teach me to love You, with all of my soul;
Teach me to love You, with all of my strength;
That I may truly love You God.

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

