A Little Poetry On Sin


In Romans chapter 7, verse 7 we read, “What then shall we say?  That the law is sin?  By no means!  Yet if it had not been for the law, I would not have known sin.”  (italics added).    A few verses later we read in verse 13, “Did that which is good, then, bring death to me?  By no means!  It was sin, producing death in me through what is good, in order that sin might be shown to be sin, and through the commandment might become sinful beyond measure” (italics added). 

There is much that I would like to say, many thoughts that I would like to convey, but cannot seem to find the words.  Through this section of scripture (Romans 7:7-25) and in the next chapter (8:1-11), I have spent much time thinking about, marveling on, and praising God for.  From this study a few lyrics have produced, lyrics which I don’t know if they will produce themselves into music or will continue to stay as poetry, but nonetheless, they help me convey, in lyrical form the war that wages inside me.  The war between sin and holiness.  A war that can only be won through the blood of Jesus Christ!  May this encourage you that “He who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ” (Philippians 1:6).  There is victory over sin, there is a righteousness that is better, more holy than your filthy rages of righteousness, and it comes from Jesus Christ.

I cannot understand this way in me;
It’s condemnation takes a toll on me.
With these chains of crushing torment,
addicting, yet deceiving, producing
nothing all the way but death in me.
I do not what I want but the very
thing I hate. As it all comes crashing in
and I cannot lift it’s weight.

Oh, what a wretched man I am,
Who will deliver me?
From this body of sin that has it’s way in me?

And I bring my soul to Thee,
unmask sin’s deformity.
Purge me of my wretchedness
that I can receive Your righteousness.

This entry was posted in Poetry, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

