Greater Than We Can Imagine


I have thankfully just finished my bachelors degree after five and a half years.  This final semester has been a lot of work.  More work than I have had to do in a long while.  As I pushed through this semester, I was in a class called Psychology Statistics.  I am NOT a math person.  I have struggled with math most of my life.  Math is just not my thing.  This class was an online class where I spent just over 159 hours this semester.  I worked hard to finish all the coursework, some lessons were easier than others.  It came time for my final exam.  I had been praying all week that God would help me to recall all the information that I needed to recall that I would pass this class.  If I failed this class I would have to go back another semester, pushing my graduation date into late April or May 2010.  My professor scheduled the final for Friday beginning at 10am.  I would have a total of six hours to finish it on Friday.  To make my anxiety greater, my professor allowed for those who would fail the exam to come back on Saturday from 10am to 4pm to retake the exam.  If you failed it again you could take one more time on Monday for another six hours.  I was stressed (and that is an understatement).  I know my abilities in math and I know the likelihood that if this class has three opportunities to pass the final at a grand total of 18 hours, that there is a good chance I might bomb this.  

BUT, I underestimated my God.  I had been praying all week and all morning on Friday that God would help me to recall my classwork.  Now had I been praying this whole time and not been believing that God would come through to help me?  When you pray do you expect God to answer? 

On Friday morning I began my exam at 10am.  I went slow and worked hard.  At around 12:30 I finished my exam.  Twenty-three questions in two and a half hours.  I went up to my professor’s office to find out if I could get my grade from the exam, considering it was all online and electronic.  He checked online for my information.  With a look of shock/amazement he said, “You got a one-hundred!”  I did not miss one question.  God did not provide me just with a little help, God provided me with EVERYTHING I needed.  I had a perfect score on my final in the hardest class, with the highest fail-rate at the university that I attended.  I had been praying for help from God, and He had been planning to help me in a way that would be greater than I could imagine! 

When you pray, expect God to answer.  Keep praying until He does.  Seek God, seek His will, seek His answer.

“And [Jesus] said to them, ‘Which of you who has a friend will go to him at midnight and say to him, “Friend, lend me three loaves, for a friend of mine has arrived on a journey, and I have nothing to set before him”, and he will answer from within, “Do not bother me; the door is now shut, and my children are with me in bed.  I cannot get up and give you anything”?  I tell you, though he will not get up and give him anything because he is his friend, yet because of his impudence he will rise and give him whatever he needs.  I tell you, ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened.  What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will instead of a fish give him a serpent; or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion?  If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will the heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!'”  – Luke 11:5-13 (ESV)

This entry was posted in Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

